Wednesday, May 13, 2009

Gluten Free Bourbon and Coke

A few months ago (my boyfriend) Taylor and I discovered Garden & Gun Magazine. For those unfamiliar with this unusually named bimonthly, it's a: Southern lifestyle magazine, all about the magic of the new South – the sporting culture, the food, the music, the art, the literature, the people, and the ideas. (-GardenAndGun.com)


So when we came across a mouthwatering, summer cocktail recipe centered around a specialty bourbon, we took notice. And when we read about the soaring popularity of Coca-Cola imported from Mexico, favorite amongst chefs, supper clubs and connoisseurs alike, we were simply inspired.

Could we round up some Old Rip Van Winkle Bourbon and some Mexican Coke? And would I even be able to partake--would they both prove gluten free and casein free?

Well, I did a bit of research on the matter, and yes, both are safe bets for those who are gluten sensitive, and of legal drinking age!

According to Truman Cox, the Old Rip Van Winkle chemist: Our products are distilled and aged with no additives after the distillation process. To the best of our knowledge, the distillation does remove or denature the proteins and gluten associated with the starting grains.

And according to the Coca-Cola site, yes, their regular coke is gluten-free.

My first bourbon or Mexican coke in nearly a year. Mignon Faget glasses stuffed with ice, bourbon and coke sizzling with carbonated fizz, condensation running down the glass sides letting us know it was time to drink up. This was one gluten-free night that stays warmly with the taste buds.

3 comments:

mb said...

Hi - I'm nearly speechless! :-) Wow! I can't imagine mixing any of the Van Winkle Bourbons with anything other than maybe a drip of water or if under severe duress, an ice cube! But hey, if you like it that way who am I to say anything! Thanks for the post (but I suggest trying it neat sometime looking out over the ocean or wherever...) :-).! BTW - hopefully it is obvious that this is humor and not flaming...

dandeliongirl said...

Thank you! For this post!

I'm newly going gluten free (trying at least, it seems I keep getting glutened, and/or also have a dairy problem).

Anyway, I have had a few successful pain free days, and with all the giving up, I've held tight to my Mexican coke addiction, and only today realized that caramel coloring and natural flavors could both be possible offenders.
"nnnnoooooooooooooo!!!!!!".... ;)

So, I'm being super careful now, and would love to hear from someone who has been consistently glutenfree long enough to know for sure if they had a reaction after drinking Mexican coke, how'd it go?

Crossing my fingers that you'll respond and tell me it's safe! ;)

Dandeliongirls@yahoo.com

Thanks for the post!

dandeliongirl said...

Thank you! For this post!

I'm newly going gluten free (trying at least, it seems I keep getting glutened, and/or also have a dairy problem).

Anyway, I have had a few successful pain free days, and with all the giving up, I've held tight to my Mexican coke addiction, and only today realized that caramel coloring and natural flavors could both be possible offenders.
"nnnnoooooooooooooo!!!!!!".... ;)

So, I'm being super careful now, and would love to hear from someone who has been consistently glutenfree long enough to know for sure if they had a reaction after drinking Mexican coke, how'd it go?

Crossing my fingers that you'll respond and tell me it's safe! ;)

Dandeliongirls@yahoo.com

Thanks for the post!